Setting up your Ruby on Rails application in an Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (9.04) server with Nginx, MySQL, Ruby Enterprise Edition and Phusion Passenger

This post has been moved to my new blog, check it out!

This blog is being terminated :)

11 Responses to “Setting up your Ruby on Rails application in an Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (9.04) server with Nginx, MySQL, Ruby Enterprise Edition and Phusion Passenger”

  1. Irving Washington Says:

    Thanks mate! I’m going to give nginx+passenger a try and have done with all the mongrel processes.

    Just one question – why bother updating the path if you’re just going to symlink the executables into /usr/bin anyway?

    • Maurício Linhares Says:

      Hi Irving,

      Nice to see that you’re moving from mongrels, I can’t imagine myself setting up another server without Passenger.

      Now to your question, the paths needs to be updated because many gems have an executable script that will be placed at the REE “/bin” folder and if you don’t update the path to add the “/opt/ruby-enterprise/bin” directory you won’t be able to call them directly.

      Examples of this are rake, autotest, spec and even mongrel_rails :)

      So you need to update your PATH with the REE bin directory to be able to call these scripts without using the full path.

  2. Flow » Blog Archive » Daily Digest for June 11th - The zeitgeist daily Says:

    […] Setting up your Ruby on Rails application in an Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (9.04) server with Nginx, My… — 11:25am via […]

  3. Nick Says:

    You might want to symlink rake too, I had some problems without that.

  4. Nick Says:

    Also do gem sources -a http://gems.github.com so that you can install gems from Github. I think mislav-will_paginate comes from there.

  5. Mario Says:

    I found i need to add a rake to my my ls links

    ln -s /opt/ruby-enterprise/bin/rake /usr/bin/rake

    and add thiss to my path to get gem executables working

    export PATH=$PATH:/home/username/.gem/ruby/1.8/bin

  6. John Dyer Says:

    This is a great tutorial and everything seems to be working very well except for one issue. I don’t know how this will affect an application but I have never seen it before.

    Once I have nginx running if I try to visit the ip of the server it shows the ruby on rails welcome aboard page. When I click on the About your application’s environment i receive the following error:
    “Cannot spawn application ‘/home/john/Sites/blog’: Could not write ‘spawn_application’ command to the spawn server: Broken pipe (32)”

    Any suggestions? Thanks much!

  7. Katz Says:

    I have followed this tutorial for a staging server. I also get Broken pipe error.

  8. Katz Says:

    Update: only true for Rails 2.3.3 +. Checked error.log

  9. links for 2009-11-25 « sySolution Says:

    […] Setting up your Ruby on Rails application in an Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (9.04) server with Nginx, My… (tags: ubuntu rubyonrails) […]


Leave a Reply

